William “Bill” Vanneman ’31 Outstanding Class Leader Award

In January of 2005, the Cornell Association of Class Officers established the William “Bill” Vanneman ’31 Outstanding Class Leader Award to recognize Cornell alumni who, in their capacity as class officers, have provided long-term exemplary service to the university and to their individual classes. The award is appropriately named in honor of Bill Vanneman ’31, who served his class tirelessly for over 75 years.

Past Recipients

2018 Chuck Hunt ’58
2017  Marshall Frank ’61 & Rosanna Frank ’61
2016  Jean Pearson ’48
2015  Stanley Rodwin ’50
2014  Shigeo “Shig” Kondo ’43
2013  Robert “Bob” Persons ’48
2012  Jack and Inger Gilbert ’49
2011  Jane Hardy ’53
2010  Peter D. Schwarz ’47
2009  S. Miller Harris ’43
2008  Edward Shineman ’37
2007  William and Elsie Doolittle ’38
2006  James C. Hanchett ’53
2005  William “Bill” Vanneman ’31

Nominations for 2019

All Cornellians are invited to nominate class officers for the annual Bill Vanneman ’31 Award.  Nominees must have celebrated their 40th Reunion and are selected solely on the basis of their contributions as volunteer class leaders. Please note that recipients of the Frank H. T. Rhodes Award and alumni who have served as University Trustees are not eligible for consideration. Please nominate here.

The 2019 Bill Vanneman ’31 Award will be presented on Friday, February 8 at the Cornell Alumni Leadership Conference (CALC) in Boston, MA.


Mandy Bennison

Administrative Assistant



Jean Pearson '48 receives the Vanneman award and shares Reunion stories.

Nominate a class officer for the Bill Vanneman ’31 Award !

Here’s your chance to recognize the loyal and dedicated class leaders who have spent countless hours planning reunions, running class activities, raising funds, and much more.

Although you may nominate at any time, only those received by November 30, 2018 will be considered for the 2019 award.

Nominate a class officer

Related story

Division of Alumni Affairs and Development 130 E. Seneca Street, Suite 400 Ithaca, NY 14850